Ladies of the Round Table

July 28, 2008

August Topic of the Month

Filed under: Uncategorized — craftymommy @ 10:20 pm

I know it’s not the very end of July, but I have been swamped getting ready to go to Arizona and I didn’t want to forget to post the topic for this month.  But first, a story:

I was having lunch with my coworkers last week.  We were sitting around having a nice lunch when all of a sudden a little boy (probably about 2 years old) ran through the front of the restaurant screaming at the top of his lungs.  I don’t know how many of you know, but I have a four-year-old daughter.  The coworker to my right has a three-year-old son.  The coworker that was sitting directly across from me has triplets that are seven months old.  When we heard and saw the little boy screaming across the restaurant, myself, and the coworker to my right chuckled a bit.  The coworker with the triplet seven month old babies eyes got very wide and he was shaking his head in disbelief.  I teased him a bit, “that’s going to be you soon.”  He said, “oh no – not my kids.  No.”  My other coworker and I busted out laughing.  I don’t blame him.  We’ve all been there.  Before my daughter could run and scream I would have said she would never behave that way either.  Before motherhood I always imagined that that was what the “bad kids” do.  I didn’t realize that it is just a part of childhood (*as is receiving the punishment after).  Now, just so you know, the mother of the little boy did catch up to him, took him out of the restaurant, and I assume punished him because she did not look happy.  I have SO been there.  I had to learn very quickly after my daughter learned to walk and scream and say no that a well-behaved child does not mean that they are well-behaved 100% of the time.  That is something that is learned. 

 

 

Now it’s your turn.  What are your

Motherhood Myths

*By the way, complete and total credit for this topic goes to Katie from Mixed Nuts.  Thanks so much Katie!

**Just a side note.  If you leave a comment and it needs to be moderated or email that needs to be answered I will be away from the computer and will tend to those when I get back from vacation, August 5.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

